"opperation set backs"

About: Queen Elizabeth Hospital (Gateshead)

Anything else?

I am currently an outpatient at the queen Elizabeth hospital. On the 8th of luly I was admitted to a and e and was diagnosed with a broken wrist. Advised I may need an operation. I attended my outpatient appointment and was plast in cast for 6 to 8 weeks. I did not receive an appointment by the 7th week so rang the hospital to find I had been overlooked and was then given an appointment for what would have been my 10th week. I mentioned the tenderness in my wrist but undrstandably asked 2 give it time and carry proceed with physio. I found myself in great pain shortley after and attended shotley bridge walk in centre. With the same response, as it was only a short period of time from my arm being free to move. I re attended the outpatient surgery which then proceeded to a ct scan and x rays to confurm a non union of my facture A month from re attending the surgery. I was then advised to have an operation which was anitialy mentioned carried out. I was then told I was booked in for an operation on the 25th october. The operation was then cancelled late on the 24th with no explanation. My next date is now th 20th of january. It is now 17 weeks from my initial injury and not only is my lifestyle drasticaly affected as I am in pain and have been offered either a support or cast infact I bought my own support but at this continued rate both my job and home will be lost. I still have to recover from an opperation which only had a 50 to 60 percent success rate 2 weeks ago and my operation is now another 3 months away. Surely there must be other options available to myself. I understand the nhs is under strain. But if I had been here o holiday I would have been seen fixed and returned home by now. I have only seen my consultant on 2 occasions and had the same issue with knee complaint. Surgery seems to be a last resort when in real cases as I have seen time and pain could have been saved. Thank you

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen Elizabeth Hospital

We're sorry to hear that you haven't been happy with your treatment at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital. We believe that you've now spoken to one of the Orthopaedics team to discuss your treatment. We always take the comments of our patients very seriously, and we'd love to be able to discuss further with you how we can improve the experience of other patients based on your comments. You can contact out PALS team on 0800 953 0667 if you would like to share your experience with us.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story