"So scared for my baby and I"

About: Queen Charlotte's Hospital

Anything else?

I am 40 weeks + 1 day pregnant and unfortunately I haven't got to many positive things to say about the antenatal care at QCH ( a part from one midwife who is wonderful).. From the late appointments (waiting up to 2.5 hours to be seen each time) to the rudeness of receptionists I have seen it all. I am so upset, stressed and feeling helpless and getting very scared for the birthday... from the beginning I said about my fear over normal birth (my mom had a still born and 3 C-sections for health reasons and I always felt paranoid the same would happen to me).. at every appointment my fears were brushed off and never really had a chance to talk to anyone in depth about it... MW tip was to "mention" it during labour". For the past 3 weeks my feet and hands are really swollen and my haemorrhoids are really bad! I have called triage yesterday asking for advice and after 3 calls they asked me to call antenatal clinic to make an appointment... just got of the phone with antenatal clinic.. the lady which picked the phone up wanted to transfer me back to triage and I explained to her that I had called them 3 times and they asked me to call antenatal... then she finally booked an appointment and when I asked where should I go, the answer was" oh well, you are calling here, you should know where to go!"... I said that I was respectful to her, I was doing what they asked me to do so, I don't understand why she was being nasty to me?! I am a first time mum, worried about the well being of my baby and do not appreciate to be treated like that... on the other hand, feel powerless because for the past 9 months I haven't seen one doctor, only MW's who always tell me something different every time and when I have a question the answer is always the same.. "we will discuss it on the next app". Haven't got most of my questions properly answered and the list goes on... My birth plan I had to write myself and pretty sure nobody will read/follow it... I chose QCH for recommendations, and I suspect that all NHS treatments will have their flaws... but it is scary! Just wanted to be assured my baby will be safe! Had another incident on triage as well, once couldn't feel the baby move and when I got there, the lady was being so aggressive putting the belts and trying to feel the baby move, and when she saw me in pain she just said ... "that's what you get to come here in the morning saying that the baby isn't moving"... so.. I was basically being "punished" for having a concern. So sad, anxious, powerless and depressed. Wish I had the money to go privately, but unfortunately that's not the case. Regards to all ladies out there. Elizabeth

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen Charlotte's Hospital

Imperial College Heathcare NHS Trust is very concerned to read of your experience,. This is certainly not the standard of care that we aim to provide and we sincerely apologise for the distress you have been caused. We are pleased that you have also contacted the PALS service today. Your concerns were escalated to the lead midwife in the antenatal clinic and other senior staff and are already being addressed. We are committed to ensuring that you feel supported and cared for and have a positive birth experience.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story