"NHS West Lothian excuse poor service"

About: St John's Hospital / Trauma & orthopaedics

(as a service user),

14 weeks after consultation I had received no contact from St Johns regards admittance for treatment.

Several calls and trips in person were met with excuse. Indeed on one occasion I was advised to be more understanding of their offices being refurbished!

At the 18 week mark I was whisked in alone and unprepared, injected in hip and left to make my way home albeit barely able to walk.

I fell our pets receive a better health service!

More about:
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Stuart Wilson, Director of Communications and Public Affairs, NHS Lothian

I am very sorry that you have had a poor experience of care and support from NHS Lothian. That is certainly not how we set about looking after patients and their needs.

If you are able to contact us on craft@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk to give us more information about your case I can promise that it will be looked into as part of our complaints process and so that you can get an answer as to what apparently went wrong in your care.

Best regards,

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Update posted by ERDD (a service user)

With respect, I and perhaps the majority of NHS users would prefer reasonable health care/treatment as opposed to investigation/complaint/whitewash/procedures that appear to me to detract from actual health care.

Response from Stuart Wilson, Director of Communications and Public Affairs, NHS Lothian

Dear ERDD,

I am sorry you feel that way but one of the ways in which we provide the sort of treatment you refer to is by learning from feedback from patients like yourself.

Contrary to what you state, investigation of complaints is hugely beneficial to the improvement of health care.

I would urge you to get in touch or we will be unable to look into the allegations you have made in any more detail. That, in itself, means we cannot act on fixing a potential problem within our services if we can not learn from your experience.

Best regards.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story