"EPAU queens- very disappointing"

About: Queen's Hospital (Romford)

Anything else?

I rang up the EPAU as I was very anxious to get some advise. The sister on duty answered the phone ( this was around 18.30 on a friday evening). Being a sister- a person of responsibility and what I thought should of had some sort empathy or sympathy i was shocked that this person had neither! I explained how I was worried that i was having a repeat ectopic pregnancy but my urine test was negative and this had happened previously. At the end of the conversation her exact words were ' I don't know what you want me to say, go to triage if you have pain'. I found this to be very unprofessional and very unhelpful. I shall be going to Homerton Hospital who have a EPAU with a good reputation and excepts self referrals from people who have had previous ectopic pregnancies and the staff have more empathy with their patients.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen's Hospital

Thank you for giving us your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to do so. I am sorry that you felt you were not treated with empathy, and were not happy with the response you received. I will take your comments back to the EPAU team and would appreciate some more information to identify who was on shift when you called. Please contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 01708 435454 or email PALS@bhrhospitals.nhs.uk. I hope you are well. Yours sincerely, Flo Panel-Coates Director of Nursing

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story