"will adams ward"

About: Medway Maritime Hospital

Anything else?

i stayed here as an inpatient i found the staff very rude, when in need of help i rang the nurse alarm and waited 30 minutes before a nurse even attended to me. they was not busy all sitting at the desk having a chat. the only staff i found on this ward that where helpful was three members and a health care assistant. if it wasnt for them this ward would be shocking. alot of patients including myself where in alot of pain and the nurses did not care. one lady in particuar was crying for 1 hour asking for medication the male night time nurse left her 2 hours waiting before giving her medication, and was extremely rude to her. i know hospital food isnt pleasant but there is no variety atall especially if you dont eat meat. the doctors on the morning ward round did not listen to what you had to say. overall i find that this hospital is a discrase and if ever in pain would never return. i would rather suffer in the future than visit this hospital expecially the will adams ward. so dissapointed this hospital should be shut down, thankyou to the three members of staff for there pleasant attitude and for the help they gave me, if it wasnt for them i would have discharged mysef.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Medway Maritime Hospital

I am very sorry to hear you have had a poor experience in our care. The level of care you describe falls far below the standards we expect. The rudeness from staff that you mention is not acceptable, nor are the other problems you experienced. I would urge you to get in touch so that we can fully investigate. Please call me on 01634 830000 or email jayne.gray@medway.nhs.uk. Jayne Gray Head of Nursing / Governance Lead Adult Medicine

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story