"Problems with washroom at hospital putting patients at risk"

About: North Devon District Hospital / Urology

(as the patient),

Wards stayed in Medical Assessment and Fortescue at the start of October.

Nurses Flavia, Seaneen, Cara, Mel, Enrico, Demetri and the lovely nurse that helped me with the shower were all extremely efficient, helpful and cheerful. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

Although carrying a bag attached to a catheter with one arm with a drip attached to the other, I was too embarrassed to use a commode in the ward. The staff provided me with support for the drip to enable me to reach the WC.

All was well, except for the fact that when in the toilet I found the toilet paper was well out of reach and the hook for the dressing gown was on the far side of the cubicle. This was also the case with the receptacle for used hand towels. It was also difficult to negotiate the foot pedal on the waster bin.

Would it be possible to rethink the design of the washroom so that patients are not put at risk and nurses do not have to spend time assisting with basic functions?

I also wish to particularly praise the doctor (Dr Dais) who visited me at three o'clock in the morning. She was cheerful, reassuring and very proficient and lovely. In fact, I want to commend the high quality, professionalism and humanity of all your staff.

Please convey my appreciation and grateful thanks to all staff involved in my treatment.

Would like to see a chain of command. Someone we patients could contact to complain or more likely praise. This someone could for instance look into the WC and say "what if".

Thank you.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Jayne Kruszewski, Customer Relations Manager, Northern Devon Healthcare NHS Trust

Dear Patient - Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments on the website. I was very pleased to see that you had such good treatment, and that you found the staff to be so cheerful and happy, which as you know when you are staying in hospital for a while is so important to the patients.

I have shared your very kind comments with both the managers of MAU and Fortescue wards, where I know they will be warmly appreciated, and shared with the staff concerned.

I am, however, concerned to note that you had such difficulties in using the washroom and WC facilities and have shared your suggestions with the Facilities manager, who I know will be grateful for the feedback, and look into the issue.

Many thanks


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story