"I'm left feeling I have just been put through a NHS lottery"

About: Telford referral and quality service (TRAQS) The Princess Royal Hospital / General medicine

(as a service user),

In July 2013 my GP agreed with me that I did need a referral to a consultant. I specifically said to my GP that I did not want to go to PRH because I preferred New Cross, Wolverhampton.

TRAQS was very prompt and sent me an appointment, but at PRH. On the phone to a TRAQS representative, I explained I had requested to go to New Cross and not Telford Hospital. Without looking anything up, she immediately replied I would have to wait 4-5 months for an appointment at New Cross. I don't know why, but alarm bells rang and I just didn't believe her.

Reluctuantly, I kept the appointment and went to PRH the next week. I was not happy with the way the consultant examined me or the way he spoke down to me. He gave me a request form for a prescription, which I had to take to my GP. After several attempts to get an appointment with my regular GP failed, I had to see one of his colleagues. I explained the above events to him and asked what he knew about this consultant. He had to admit that he had never heard of this consultant and so could not comment on his work.

I am now in my 60's and in the past I have always been used to my GP personally referring me to a consultant who he knows and can trust with his patients. I am not impressed with this new system where TRAQS take over this job and refers you to any hospital/consultant - I'm left feeling I have just been put through a NHS lottery.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from The Princess Royal Hospital

Dear Sent160 We are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with the TRAQS service provided by GPs in Telford & Wrekin. They will also be able to respond directly to the issues you have raised. We are also particularly disappointed to hear that you did not wish to come to the Princess Royal Hospital, and more importantly that you did not feel happy with the way that the consultant examined you. If you would like us to share your feedback directly with the consultant concerned please use the feedback form on our website at www.sath.nhs.uk Feedback from patients is a vital part of doctor's appraisal, helping them to understand how their patients feel about the services they have received and using their feedback to improve the care they provide. If you are able to share more details we will make sure that this is shared with your doctor for their learning. Thank you for taking the time to let us know, and we hope that TRAQS is able to answer your queries about their service.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story