"A positive experience"

About: Stepping Hill Hospital

Anything else?

My recent stay at SH was very positive. I went into labour at home and was visited by a community midwife to check my progress which wad great as I had been worried about being turned away at triage as it was my fist baby and so I want sure what to expect. Subsequently, there was a room prepared for my arrival at the birthing centre which was brilliant. The midwife we had for the afternoon was great and supported us in the early stages of labour. I had another midwife in the evening who was fantastic. She was so helpful, caring and encouraging and despite my continual 'dancing' and swapping between a tens and the pool she stayed so calm and professional with me. Unfortunately, things didn't progress as they were expected to and my baby ended up back to back and wasn't going to come out despite all our efforts to try. We ended up in surgery but again the same midwife tried to keep me calm and talked me through what to expect staying with me all the time. I also need to add that the consultant and her team were great - the anaesthetist was particularly lovely to both myself and my husband. She had a super manner and reassured me. The consultant was exactly what you needed in that situation- calm, professional and appeared very competent. The aftercare on the ward was ok, I think it was more I wanted to get home than anything wrong with the ward but this was the least favourable part of the experience despite having my beautiful son with me. There were some very nice student midwives that helped me out though whilst I was there. The following home visits from the team midwives have been very positive too helping me out with feeding and encouraging me each time they came to see us at home. I can't complain at all. Thanks everyone involved! See you in a few years!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Cath Marsland, Head of Risk and Patient and Customer Services, Stockport NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience which I have shared it with the midwifery team I wish you all the best with your new baby.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Stepping Hill Hospital

Thank you for your comments.

I sincerely apologise that these were not responded to in a timely manner.

This was due to lack of administrative support at the time which has now been rectified.

I would like to reassure you however that your comments were forwarded to the appropriate teams who were pleased to hear that you had a good experience at our hospital.

Kind regards

Patient and Customer Services Manager

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story