About: Freeman Hospital

Anything else?

After having a hernia operation last week the 15th Oct, i felt confident i would be in good hands. With the Freeman having such a good reputation, i had nothing to worry about. How wrong i was. I was ward 6 bay 2. The aftercare was nothing like i had received at the QE2 at Gateshead last year. Every time it came to giving out the medication there was always a mix up not only with me but other patients too. My blood sugar levels were up to 14 and the nurse was not going to give me my diabetic tablets until someone complained. There was one lady in tears and on the verge of a panic attack due to her medication not being sorted and the way she was spoken to in a patronizing manner.(not all the staff were like this ) Another lady had asked for a blanket, she was cold. She still did not receive a blanket when an hour had gone by, which at this time i was leaving t go home. i had took note at what time she had asked for the blanket. Every time you asked for something you were told, 2 seconds, that never came. I also felt i was not taken seriously when i told the nurse that the doctor said i could go home, she then said ` I will check with the doctor`as though she did not believe me. I can only say that the after care was poor. The ward seemed so disorganized beyond belief. On another note, I have to compliment the chefs at the Freeman, the food was really good. Sylvia Boyd.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Freeman Hospital

Thank you for posting your feedback on NHS Choices. We are very disappointed that you were unhappy with the care delivered by the nursing team on ward 6 Freeman Hospital. The Trust strives to deliver the highest standard of care and patient experience at all times and we apologise that you felt we did not achieve this on occasions during your stay. Your concerns have been discussed with the ward sister who has reported that it is not uncommon for a patient to have a raised blood sugar after surgery and the Trust has a protocol in place to manage such events. However we would like to extend our apologies if you felt we did not communicate the reasons for your treatmentl to you at the time. With regards to medication, Sister has informed me that it may appear confusing for patients when admitted to have the timings of their medication changed or altered .This can be for many reasons including pre -operative fasting. Every effort is made by the medical team to return each patient back to their normal regime as fast as possible. Once again, please accept our apologies that this was not fully explained to you at the time. You have also commented about a lady in the next bed who had become distressed by pain, unfortunately we are unable to comment on another patients care due to confidentiality. However it is important to note that all the team on ward 6 are committed to the safe wellbeing of our patients and that includes providing effective pain relief. We do recognise that ward 6 is a busy surgical ward but we do feel it is well organised. We do hope that patients feel able to raise issues with us during their stay so that we can resolve them straight away. On ward 6, the Sister or senior nurse does a daily ward round where we hope that patients will raise any problems or queries with us. On a positive note we are pleased to see you were happy with the Freeman catering and we have passed this on to the catering manager. If you would like further opportunity to discuss your concerns please contact Matron Henaghan Surgical services on 0191 233 6161.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story