"Orthopaedic Clinic chaotic administration"

About: Barnet Hospital

Anything else?

Around the end of July, my GP made an appointment for my consultation with an orthopaedic specialist at Barnet Hospital. I waited in pain for nearly three months as my appointment date was on 21 October. Just two hours before my appointment I received a telephone message explaining that a mistake had been made: it was the wrong specialist, therefore the appointment was now cancelled and a very perfunctory apology was given. He added that they would contact me again with a new date, without any indication of when this would be done. I know the NHS is under pressure but this is just simply rude and incompetent.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Barnet Hospital

I am sorry to read that you had a poor experience with the Trust appointment service for orthopaedics. All GP referrals are reviewed upon receipt into the Trust by one of the orthopaedic consultants and so I am unclear as to why a decision was made at the last minute to change your appointment. As your feedback is annonymous I would request that you contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) at the Trust with your name, hospital number and contact details so that we can investigate what happened and ensure you get a timely appointment. Our contact email is bcfpals@nhs.net As an organisation we are committed from learning from specific issues and from any mistakes we may have made. Hearing about where we can do better helps us to pinpoint where exactly to make improvements to the service we provide. I do hope that you will make contact with the department.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story