"Below average service for my 2 year old grandson"

About: Medway Community Healthcare Medway Maritime Hospital / Accident and emergency South East Coast Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust / Emergency ambulance

(as a relative),

My 2 year old grandson was showing signs of illness on Sunday afternoon, he developed a high temp 40c and a feeling of grogginess and sore neck and legs. We took him to Medoc who immediately phoned him a ambulance as they where really concerned about his condition. This was approx 1900 hrs. On arrival at A&E we were left in a seemingly dirty waiting room until gone 2300 hrs with my grandson in obvious discomfort and going way past the time he would normally be in bed. On numerous occasions whilst approaching the reception area we were just waved away and told to wait our turn in what didn't seem a very busy waiting room.

When we were finally seen the nurses took one look at my grandson and said "he looks ok to me, give him some ibuprofen he should be fine" and sent us home. They didn't even take his temperature, pulse, look into his eyes etc.

I shouldn't be surprised at the below average service as I've never once left Medway hospital being satisfied with the treatment we have received: -(

In my opinion this feels like a dirty hospital which doesn't seem to care about its patients at all.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Suzanne Brooker, Head of Patient Experience, Medway NHS Foundation Trust

I was sorry to read that you felt your gransdson had received below average service in our emergency department.

Please accept our apologies.

Whilst we endeavour to see every patient in a timely manner we do recognise that at times we cannot always meet the level of need expected by our patients because of clinical priorities at the time.

The behaviour of the staff at the reception area should not have waved you away and told you to wait your turn, we should have explained to you the reason for the long wait. This is not acceptable behaviour and will be escalated to the Clinical Nurselead for action.

Whilst we are unable to comment on your grandsons actual assessment of need at the time the Clinical Nurse Lead for the Emergency Department would be happy to discuss your concerns.

Inma Diaz Alonso the Clinical Nurse Lead, can be contacted on 07432641371.

Thank you for your feedback.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Louise Hutchinson, Patient Experience Lead, South East Coast Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust

Dear Dennis5926

I was sorry to hear of your grandson's illness, but thank you very much for taking the time to comment on the NHS services you received; I'm sure all involved will appreciate it, as patient/public feedback provides us all with an opportunity to learn and improve. I am glad that you were pleased with the service you received from South East Coast Ambulance Service, however, and I do hope your grandson is much better now.

Yours sincerely, Louise Hutchinson

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story