"Doctors were amazing, but..."

About: Wexham Park Hospital

Anything else?

After coming off of my longboard and having a large 4 inch long and 1 inch deep split in my side, i was taking to the A&E. The ambulance staff were outstanding. Although i had to wait 2 hours to be seen, i was given plenty of pain relief and gas. The doctors that saw me all treated me outstandingly especially a young male doctor, possibly a junior doctor, but he acted with genuine care. After being stitched up, i passed out on my way to the toilet and felt very sick. The nurses on the A&E ward were brilliant again, but i was then sent in a bed to either the AMU or AEU i can't quite remember. After waiting 4 hours there until 1 am, hearing the nurses discuss that i was in that bed but they 'can't be arsed to go just wait for the gp'. I had 15 fairly deep cuts on my left arm and hand that were all filthy, so i asked the GP if he could get a nurse to clean it up for me (I know they are not slaves...but i couldn't twist my other arm across my body to clean them myself and i was still close to passing out). A nurse walked over about 45 minutes later ( i heard the doctor ask one of them to clean it as soon as he left me, he then had to attend other patients) She took one look at my hand, grimaced, told me to get up and clean it myself under a tap round the corner. Upon standing up and getting to the tap i begin to pass out again. I go to sit down on the bed, explain it to the nurse who shrugs and walks away. The whole time i was in that ward, all of the nurses were far more interested in ordering themselves a takeaway to be delivered to that ward and made loads of noise all night. Other patients also spoke to me about how loud and unprofessional they were being. The doctor came back to see me at about 12.30 noticed my dressing was filthy on my chest and sorted that out for me, however the sister for the ward had already decided that she wanted to discharge me as they wanted that bed, even though she knew i couldn't walk and every time i stood up i passed out. They also knew that i didn't drive, had no family nearby and i also lived just under 30 miles away. So in conclusion, A&E staff were fantastic, all Doctors incl junior doctors were outstanding, but the nurses on that ward were unprofessional uncaring and more interested in chatting very loudly and there takeaway chicken salad that they got a taxi man to deliver.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Heatherwood and Wexham Park Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are really pleased to hear how well you were treated and cared for in our A&E department, as this is the standard we expect and it is therefore disappointing that this did not continue when you were admitted.

The behaviour of the nursing staff is not acceptable and your comments will be passed to the Lead Nurse for that area, so that it can be addressed with the team. Please accept our apologies for your experience on the ward.

Response from Heatherwood and Wexham Park Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Our Associate Director of Nursing is very disappointed to hear of your experience on AMU in relation to the behaviour of the nursing staff. She would be grateful if you could contact Patient Relations on 01753 634081 or via email patientrelations@hwph-tr.nhs.uk to provide your name and contact details so that she can look into this matter further.

Updates, changes and questions related to this story