"Maternity unit not up to standard"

About: The Whittington Hospital

Anything else?

Unfortunately my experience at the Whittington was not good at all. I gave birth earlier this year, and without going into too much detail a series of very avoidable mistakes during my pregnancy and labour meant that my baby was undiagnosed as being in a breach position and after over 24 hours in labour I had to have an emergency c section. Following the labour and surgery I developed an infection in my c section scar, 5 days after being discharged. After calling the midwife she told me to go to the hospital and get it looked at, as no one could visit me at home as there was a home birth happening. It was snowing heavily and I had an 8 day old baby. Unable to drive after the c section, I told her I would have to walk down to the hospital in the ice and snow, as buses were halted in highgate village. Her response? "Well you'll have to just go". Luckily my husband was able to stay with our baby, otherwise we would've both been out in minus three temperatures with me doubled up in pain every 5 minutes. I would never return to the Whittington, I wondered why other mums in the area had chosen UCH when the Whittington was so close by. Now I know. There are so many other points I could raise, from the intense pressure to breast feed baby successfully "otherwise you won't be going home" to the rooms where you told your partner can stay the night - if he sleeps in a plastic chair, but everything was presented in a detailed complaint and, although detailed, the response I received was "mistakes happen". Some of the team who treated me were kind and capable, but in a general wave of chaos it's just not enough.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from The Whittington Hospital

Thank you for your feedback following your recent experience. We are very sorry to read that you had such a poor experience. We would very much like to invite you in for a meeting with the Head of Midwifery. We hope that a meeting will allow us to discuss the points you have raised and investigate appropriately, what happened. Please email our PALS team at whh-tr.whitthealthPALS@nhs.net who will be more than happy to assist in arranging a meeting.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story