"Day surgery appointment"

About: Stobhill Hospital / Trauma & orthopaedics

(as the patient),

Went for shoulder surgery today at 11am. Had been fasting since 6am so was pretty hungry even by 11am! Got there, met the anaesthetist and surgeon within 2 hours and everything seemed hunky dory. 3 hours later (5 in total) I was told my appointment was now cancelled as the day surgery had ran out of time. How is this possible and why oh why wasn't I regularly updated with what was happening? Why did they wait until 4pm before telling me they had ran out of time? Were they hoping to squeeze me in at the end of the day? Very disappointed.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Paul Cannon, Head of Administration, Acute Services Division, Greater Glasgow & Clyde NHS

Dear Eeka Peeka,

thank you for your posting, I was very sorry to read that you did not have your surgery as planned and I hope that in the intervening period you have been contacted with an alternative arrangement.

I will share your posting with local staff to ensure that they are aware of just how disappointed you were, and take on board the point you have raised about a lack of communication.


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story