"When attended A&E following ..."

About: Royal Albert Edward Infirmary

(as the patient),

What I liked

When attended A&E following GP referral with a possible DVT, I was quickly triaged and the necessary blood tests done immediately.

What could be improved

Following blood tests, told to wait in waiting room in A&E, despite main area of A&E being very quiet with very few beds occupied. I was then left to sit for 2 hours waiting to be seen, at no time did anyone come to explain what we were waiting for. When I went through to the main area, which by this time had filled up, I was rudely told that I had not been forgotten about and that I had to wait to see a doctor. At no point during this 2 hours had I been examined by a doctor. Luckily I did not have a DVT! Communication between patient and staff to explain situations could be improved ten fold!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Albert Edward Infirmary

Thank you for your kind comments about the speed at which you were triaged and your blood tests were performed. I was however concerned to note your comments about the lack of information that you received whilst you were waiting to be reviewed by a doctor and the apparently unhelpful response you received to your queries. I would be pleased to look at this in more detail and respond to you personally if you would like to contact me. I can be contacted on 01942 773340 or via e-mail: lesley.boyd@wwl.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful