"Food and coronary care"

About: Royal Alexandra Hospital / Cardiology

(as the patient),

I was admitted after a heart attack. Most of the nursing staff were helpful and looked after me well and the medical treatment also went well. The food however is rather poor and breaks almost all the rules regarding fat content. This evening the choice was. Haggis, Quiche or Broccoli and Cauliflower in cheese sauce. All followed by pudding and custard. The choice was difficult but I decided Quiche was the most acceptable. This consisted of A small triangle of Quiche, boiled cubes of turnip and a few highly spiced greasy chips or they may have been wedges of potato with skin. The Quiche was basically a ham omelet surrounded in a rather soft overcooked pastry, almost certain to cause indigestion if eaten which I didn't. The turnip might have been OK with the haggis but with Quiche! . As for the potato wedges they were just almost warm, tired bits of oily potato.

I scooped out and ate the egg and bacon part and that was my dinner.

Tonight was the worst yet but the food is seldom nice but often fatty, gristly and of poor quality. Nicest is the soup which I believe arrives in bulk. Also the morning roll and cereal are as one might normally expect. Things seem to fall down badly as soon as the local kitchen gets involved. The only award it might win is for staying within a tight budget. Exactly the same food should be served up at council and ministerial functions just to see if they would find it acceptable.

I feel I should add that given the budget the meals are not too bad just often inappropriate for those with a heart condition. No point in spending a lot on medication, experts and cardio rehab then serving up foods that don't live up to that standard

One TV between six beds just causes annoyance better to have peace and quite rather than a moron with a remote

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Paul Cannon, Head of Administration, Acute Services Division, Greater Glasgow & Clyde NHS

Dear VeryHungry

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to provide your feedback. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the relevant department.

Once again, thank you for using Patient Opinion.

Kind Regards


  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Greater Glasgow & Clyde NHS

Dear VeryHungry

We are sorry that you have had this experience in one of our wards. Good food is essential to recovery and we ensure that we can comply with national standards by offering healthier options and higher energy options at each mealtime on our menus. We are sorry that you were not offered a healthier choice whilst in the coronary care unit In addition to the main menu we also have lighter options available including jacket potatoes, omelettes and salads.

We have discussed meal ordering and menu choices available with the ward concerned as a result of your comments. Thank you for the taking the time to provide feedback as your opinion matters to us The situation in respect of menu availability in this ward will continue to be monitored by us.



Helen Davidson

Catering Strategy Dietitian

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story