"No results...no response....no staff cover"

About: Medway Maritime Hospital

Anything else?

I can't fault seeing the neurologist, they were very friendly, booked my MRI and I received the copy of the write up very soon after my appointment. However then started the messing up of my MRI scans after waiting a number of weeks for the first appointment, I got a letter the day before saying it was cancelled due to unforseen circumstances, then the following appointment was cancelled because of a problem with the scanners. A problem which couldnt be avoided, that I understand but having aleady had one appointment cancelled you can understand the frustration. So then it was another few weeks until I finally got my scan. The staff at the MRI suite were lovely and helpful, went without a hitch. So I'm thinking excellent, a couple of weeks and I'll have a letter with my results and we'll be able to move forward with my referral to Kings College. 12 weeks later and I haven't heard a thing! My GP has no records of any of it so have said I must contact the hospital, I get put through to the consultants secretary only to get a voicemail saying they are on leave and not to leave a voicemail. There is no cover arranged for their absence and only if there is an emergency are you permitted to use the number given on the voicemail! Bythe time I finish work the department is closed and it is often difficult for me to make calls during the day trying to get through. I sent an email to one of the people responding to this feedback section on the neuro department and didn't get a response not even a thanks for your email we'll look into it! Not impressed with the follow up/continuity of care or the difficulty in actually speaking someone!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Medway Maritime Hospital

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you had a positive experience when seeing a neurologist, however the delays and slow follow up you speak of is unacceptable. We need to get to the bottom of this and find out why you were unable to get through to speak to someone. Please contact me on anne-marie.moore@medway.nhs.uk and I will look further into this. Anne-marie Moore Neurology Team Leader

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story