"Brilliant operation but after 'care' let down..."

About: Warwick Hospital

Anything else?

I can't complain about the hospital or the actual total hip replacment I had in July 2013. Athough I did note that others in the ward seemed to have visits from the consultants but I didn't... I did suffer greatly with back pain from having the epidural and had spoken several times to SWATT team on phone but felt very isolated and had to get on with things on my own. Not until I spoke to my nurse practioner when she linked it and prescribed more Ibrofen -this should be noted some do suffer bad after effects and Tramadol doesn't touch this pain. I feel at least one or two visits from health professionals is needed for 4/5 weeks after the op - when you live alone and in a lot of pain the isolation is greater. The Outpatient follow up was a joke - cancelled 3 times then sent to fracture clinic so no examination or proper consulation after - I am still waiting for an appointment because now I have one leg longer than the other and need an insole insert... Feel a lot of improvements could be made here as feel I have had to cope alone...

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Warwick Hospital

I am very sorry to hear about this. We have informed the Manager relating to the area you have raised concern with, however we could do with further details so we can investigate this matter thoroughly. Please could you email communications@swft.nhs.uk with more information and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story