"Lack of respect!!"

About: Royal Lancaster Infirmary

Anything else?

My 20 week scan was booked for 3pm and I was worried I would not make it on time so rang the ward to let them know I may be late. The woman on phone said it wasbusy so she'd have to cancel it and she had a queue of people in front of her so it could not be negotiated. Nearer to 3, I rang back and spoke to a different lady who said it would be fine to come down stil. Excited, I basically ran to the place, checked in and was told to wait. Over an hour later, a midwife came in and asked if anyone was waiting for a scan, I raised my hand and told her my name. 20 mins later (now an hour and a half after appt time) she came back and told me my appt had been cancelled, and I would have to wait 2-3 weeks!! It was shocking I had been mislead and left waiting the way I was. Also when I was 22 weeks pregnant, I was assaulted and made my way to a&e, there was no one in the waiting room however I waited for 2 hours to be seen as staff failed to tell me that there was no doctor present till 9am! It was another person waiting that told me this. My brother turned up in the waiting room while I wad being seen, the receptionist informed me of this and I told the doctor that my brother was not actually aware of my pregnancy at this point, as we were very close to the waiting room, with the doors wide open. The doctor rang the maternity ward and was saying my full name and weeks pregnant very loudly. I would like you to know that my brother found out I wad pregnant due to this lack of consideration and he has ceased any contact with me. Im due to give birth in 6 weeks at RLI and to be honest im dreading it. I have had nothing but a lack of consideration and respect when in your hospital. The community midwives are amazing. But everyone else I have seen needs a serious talking to. Im not happy.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Lancaster Infirmary

We want to apologise sincerely for this experience and would like to investigate further the issues you have raised. Please would you contact our Customer Care Department on 01539 795497 or email CommentsandComplaints@mbht.nhs.uk so we can look into these issues and respond directly to you.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story