About: Stepping Hill Hospital

Anything else?

I went into the hospital for surgery. Upon going in I was asked a load of pre-op questions, one of which being do you have any cuts or bruises? When I replied yes due to falling over a few days earlier, I had a bright yellow "Falls Risk" band attached to my wrist and a hazard sign put by my bed, it was embarrassing and all further staff agreed it was silly. There was another occasion where I pressed my nurses call button as I was in intense pain and had been told to ask for stronger pain relief if I couldn't cope, my call button beeped for 20 minutes before I overheard a nurse say to another 'Im ignoring that for now' which made me feel degraded and like a burden. Once again in the morning I asked for some more water, a request which was clearly forgotten, which I didnt mind, but when I asked again a while later the nurse responded to me looking annoyed, stated she had other things to do and then walked away ignoring the request once again. I would have gone myself but didnt know where to get it from so was left without water after having oral surgery, which made the pain worse. These few comments and events made me feel worthless and looked down upon whilst in hospital, especially 1 particular nurse who was responsible for 2 of the above. I found her extremely unprofessional and rude.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Cath Marsland, Head of Risk and Patient and Customer Services, Stockport NHS Foundation Trust

I am very sorry to hear of your expereince and apologse for any unprofessional or rude behaviour which I agree is unacceptable. Please contact the Patient and Customer Services Department to discuss this so we can investigate and stop someone else feeling like you do.

Patient & Customer Services Department, Poplar Suite, Stepping Hill Hospital, Stockport, SK2 7JE

0161 419 5678

or email:


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Stepping Hill Hospital

Thank you for your comments.

I sincerely apologise that these were not been responded to in a timely manner.

This was due to lack of administrative support at the time which has now been rectified.

I would like to reassure you however that your comments were forwarded to the appropriate teams for them to reflect and learn from your experience so that improvements could be made in the services we offer.

Kind regards

Patient and Customer Services Manager

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story