"Poor A&E Care, and lack of care and decency shown"

About: St Peter's Hospital (Chertsey)

Anything else?

I arived on thursday morning with stomach pains and blood in stools. Seen be a junior doctor on A&E, I explained my symptoms and showed the doctor my broken thooth and explained the ex stream pain and the swollen face. He missed the fact that I had an abcess of the gum, which if left untreated would lead to blood infection. When I was discharged with a asprin, I knew I had to get proper medicle care, and had to go to a private dentist 4 hours later for an xray, which showed a gum abcess and was given powerfull drugs to kill the infection. Thank good for private care. The NHS missed a basic, illness was even pointed out, why?

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St Peter's Hospital

I can completely understand the distress and frustration caused by arriving in A&E with tooth pain and discovering that we were unable to help you, as unfortauntely we do not have a dentist within the department. In such situations we are only able to offer temporary pain relief and advise people to contact their own dentist or ring NHS 111 if it is out-of-hours. I hope we were able to help you with your stomach pains and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your experience in more detail, if you could kindly contact me directly on 01932 723023. Philip Kemp A&E Service Manager

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story