"Felt neglected."

About: Kettering General Hospital

Anything else?

When my waters broke on the 31/10/12 i went to he labour ward to get checked over.. i was told that i was 3cms dilated and my waters had both gone. I was sent home and told to return if i started having contractions and if nothing came of it to come to be induced in the morning as it can be dangerous for the baby with the waters have broken. When i came to the ward in the morning for induction i was examined and told that i hadn't dilated much more and that my waters hadn't broken... As i had arrived at the ward at around 9am i wasn't bothered that it may take a while for someone to come and induce me. Between 9am and around 1pm i was checked a few times but was not induced. After this time i wasn't seen until around 7pm at which point i had to call a member of staff to say that i hadn't been seen in a while to find that the handover had occured and they were unaware no one had come to see me in such a long period of time. As it got to around 9.30 i told my partner to leave as it was late and we hadn't had much rest. Within about 45mins of him leaving i was taken to labour ward. When my partner arrived i was just being examined to find that i was 7-8cms dilated and my waters had gone... so when the member of staff examined me she hadn't done so properly which led to a very stressful labour and because i hadn't been induced and my waters had gone over 24hours before getting to the labour ward i hadn't slept and struggled through the labour. The staff in labour ward were amazing though. After having my baby at 7am i was fixed up and sent back to maternity ward. As i had a dry birth i had to stay 24hours for my daughter to be observed... Luckily during the day i had my partner with me but when he had to leave i started to struggle as my daughter wasn't sleeping for more than around 40minutes so i was unable to get sleep and after a lot of pain from constant breast feeding i asked a member off staff for some formula so that i could try and get some sleep but i was pressured into trying to keep breastfeeding even though i was in agony. I felt bullied into doing something whilst exhausted and alone. After a stressful night with my child and horrible staff i ended up being in the ward until the early evening as they took so long to discharge me. Felt like i didn't exist which made me experience a lot worse than it could have been.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Kettering General Hospital

I am very sorry to hear of your concerns. I would welcome the opportunity to answer your questions and support you thoroughly and would therefore ask that you contact me directly to arrange this. Due to the time that has passed since the incident you may benefit from having a confidential debrief with me and the Infant Feeding Specialist. We take the safety of mothers and babies very seriously and you would have been encouraged to stay on the ward for 24 hours so as to reduce any risk of infection to the baby. In order for me to complete a thorough action plan and to address these issues in greater detail, please contact me on Rowan ward on 01536 492907. Your comments are always taken seriously and Improvements in the ward area are important to me and the team. Despite your concerns, you have made some very positive comments regarding the amazing support you had on the delivery suite and I will ensure your kind words are passed on. Regards Sarah Berrill Rowan ward sister

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story