"Antenatal clinic - wythenshawe hospital"

About: Wythenshawe Hospital

Anything else?

Awful experience. I arrived for my 20 wk scan, on a full ladder, as advised on the phone earlier that day, and after they looked at my notes they asked me at reception if I want to book my scan today! They then said i ddint need a full bladder. They then apologised and said take a seat, and I was shortly taken for my scan by a very miserable nurse, who made me feel nervous and on edge. As it was a long scan I panicked the whole time and she didn't comfort me. All was fine with my baby thank god, but my placenta was low lying, she skimmed over that it would possibly move and that I need a 32 wk scan to double check it. I was so shocked and didn't know anything about this I went away crying and so unhappy. Not at all the experience I wanted for my first baby. Now I don't feel excited and am relying on the Internet for information about placenta praevia. I'm so scared now and will be worrying for another 12 weeks.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Wythenshawe Hospital

I am so sorry to hear of your experience when you attended for your 20 week scan as the service you received has fallen below the standard that we would expect. Please could you contact me on 0161 291 5381 to enable me to fully investigate your concerns and ensure that you have a full explanation of your condition and how this will be managed. Kind regards Patient Experience Manager

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story