"O Dear after my 5 star reviews............The..."

About: West Middlesex University Hospital

Anything else?

I was sent for some blood tests by my oncologist. Arrived at West Middx spent over 20mins trying to find a parking space. (A sign of what was to come?) proceeded to the blood test clinic. Took my ticket. The small, cramped, airless waiting room was standing room only. Unable to stand for long periods I went out into the main hospital to sit down. Waited half an hour went back to blood clinic. Not much movement I'm afraid. What started with two people taking blood was now reduced to one nurse. At peak times this is ridiculous. Various staff came and went bit no one else helped take blood. The single nurse was not only left all alone but was answering the phone, queries from wards as far as I could make out. Now yes people could have left and come back but for many this is not possible. I had enough problems getting parked. In all I waited along with many other patients nearly two and a half hours until blood was taken. No one ever came to explain what was going on. There must be a better system than the current one. Sorry West Middx. Very poor show. Hopefully it's a one off.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from West Middlesex University Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent experiences at our hospital. Clearly they do not meet the high standards we aim for and we would like to apologise for this. We are aware that on this day we did have issues with the number of phlebotomists available to run the drop-in service. Unfortunately we had some staff on planned leave but also several staff on unplanned leave at short notice leaving us with a much smaller team than normal to cover the wards and drop-in clinic. Actions were taken on the day to try and minimise the disruption to patients but inevitably the waiting time was longer than we would have liked. As a lesson learnt we will make sure that patients are kept better informed in future. Once again we are sorry that you did not have a good experience with us on this occasion. Barry Samways, Pathology Services Manager.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story