"Wansbeck General Hospital Maternity Ward (11)"

About: Wansbeck Hospital / Maternity care

(as the patient),

My first time mother experience in WGH was a total nightmare after my emergency section and I would not recommend first time mothers to attend that ward if CQC or Pals have not had a quiet word with the healthcare staff.

I found the healthcare staff very unprofessional, unhelpful, constantly had attitude issues and complained out loud in front of patient expressing how much they 'hated'' their jobs.

For the weekend that I stayed in hospital (early discharge due to the poor experience) I was forever in pain due to the long periods of time waiting for pain relief.

I found the Registered Nurses could not do enough for you, however they had other patients to attend to so could not provide a one on one service.

I would not recommend this hospital for first time mothers as I felt you were expected to know exactly what to do and were left to get on with it!

Suggestion: more staff made available for those mothers who need extra help and support!

However, on the plus side the Delivery Ward, Staff and Theatre Staff were amazing!


Response from Annie Laverty, Director of Patient Experience, Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

picture of Annie Laverty

Dear Madam,

Thank you for sharing your story of our care. I am sorry, I would have wanted a very different experience for you as you brought your baby into the world for the first time.

I am responding to your post immediately because I feel very shocked by the behaviour you have described. Irrespective of the grade of staff or demands on their time, we would never expect anyone at Northumbria to act in a rude, unhelpful and unprofessional way.

We deliberately set high standards of care because our patients deserve them, and we would want all our staff to understand their part in meeting these standards. I am sorry that we failed to get this right for you. I am also very sorry that you didn't receive pain relief at the time that you needed it.

I think it is extremely important that I act on the information you've provided by speaking to the team but I have very little information to go on because your post is anonymous. I'd urge you to get in touch with me please: annie.laverty@nhct.nhs.uk or 07876502899 so that I can understand more.

I do hope you and your baby are now doing well at home.

With thanks again,


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story

Recently read