"Seemingly easily fixable things seem to be failing. "

About: Leicester Royal Infirmary / Ear, Nose and Throat

(as the patient),

I had an appointment in late August which had taken ages to be available following from my GP appointment - I chose to attend the local clinic following a recommendation from another consultant rather than attend the private clinic which had appointments available within 2 weeks so I was already annoyed about the delays in getting an appointment.

Obviously I had rearranged my work schedule to be available for the appointment but then at 5pm the night before the appointment I was called by the clinic to say the appointment had been cancelled - no reason given and no alternative appointment provided. So I went into work the day of the planned appointment only to be called on the phone to say that the clinic was now happening. I had to rearrange my day again, which thankfully I was able to do, and just made the clinic.

At the clinic, I was advised I needed another appointment and one was booked for me in September so I organised my work diary to accommodate it. However, a few days later I received a letter to say that the appointment was now being moved to a different week which I am unable to make. I phoned to reorganise the appointment and was advised that the next available appointment was not until December (during the Christmas holidays when I am away) so I am now not going to get to see the consultant until 24 January.

I am attending the appointment at the request of the Registrar who felt he could learn from my case and wanted to sit alongside the consultant during the examination but feel I have been truly messed around.

I am completely on board with the provision of services close to home, i.e. I believe that the Market Harborough facility is essential to provide local services but I am very disappointed with the (lack of) administration controls in place. How can you run a service which never knows from one day to the next what is happening?

I work in the NHS and whilst I would not normally complain, I feel it is essential to the future of the NHS to give feedback on services in which seemingly easily fixable things seem to be failing. I as the patient have not had a good experience of the NHS in this case but the factors here could have been easily avoided.

More about:
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Laura Mort, Communications Officer, University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust

Dear mh ent patient,

We are really sorry to read the issues you have experienced with the cancellation of your appointments, we really appreciate your feedback as it will allow us to improve the services.

If you would like to follow this up further, please contact lead nurse for specialist surgery, Kerry Pape on Kerry.Pape@uhl-tr.nhs.uk. Kerry has expressed that she would like the opportunity to follow up the issues you have raised above, but needs more information to do so.

Kind regards

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story