"Disappointed that a water birth is probably not possible"

About: Lincoln County Hospital / Maternity

(as the patient),

I went on a tour of Lincoln Nettleham ward and labour ward at Lincoln County Hospital today. I had been looking forward to having the option of using a birthing pool however I had been warned by my midwife that the birthing pool room was being refurbished and had been out of action for many months.

We were informed by the midwives at the hospital that the pool is installed but that they are waiting on other parts of the room to be finished and they could not tell us when this would be.

I left the tour feeling very disappointed and upset that a water birth is probably not going to be an option for me now as I am due in 5 weeks.

Aside from this fact the whole place felt very shabby and depressing. Not a nice cheerful relaxing setting where you would want to give birth and recover in.

However the staff there did seem very nice and helpful and I know they can only work with the resources that are available to them.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Jennie Negus, Deputy Director of Patient Services, United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust

picture of Jennie Negus

Dear mumtobe - I am sorry you left so disappointed after the tour of our maternity service.

I have looked into the issues with the birthing pool and Hazel Harrison head of midwifery has confirmed it will be back up and running by 7th October - which will hopefully be just in time for you.....if you have any more questions or concerns about the unit please contact Hazel directly at: hazel.harrison@ulh.nhs.uk.

Wishing you all the best with baby!

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story