"Maternity - Did not listen to me"

About: Warrington Hospital

Anything else?

On 3rd Feb 2013, 9.05pm my waters broke whilst I was at home. I had no pain or contractions at that point. Called the labour ward (they had just moved to the new wing that day so were a bit disorganised), midwife there told me to come in. I went in, was checked over. Wasn't examined down below as was told there would be a risk of infection given that my waters had broke already. Fine so far. Was told that it was very likely that I wouldn't labour naturally, and had to wait approx. 20 mins for midwife to get me an induction slot (for 6pm the next day). During that time I started to contract there in the hospital, but was told that these were 'mild contractions' and the usual pain and discomfort. Told to go home and rest for the next day. I thought the midwife knew best - so I went home and tried to sleep. The contractions got worse and closer. Three hours later we rang the ward. They told me all was well and that I should rest still and stay at home. I went back to bed still having contractions. Another 90 minutes later contractions were coming every 4-5 minutes, and I bled (filled a whole maternity towel). We called the hospital again and they told us to wait still and that "some bleeding was usual" (?!?!?!). Whilst on the phone to them, I replaced the maternity towel and bled again (filling it completely). They still said to stay at home. A few minutes later, I then felt pressure down below and was sat down feeling to push. We called the hospital again and we told them that we were coming in. They didn't seem pleased at that or concerned that anything was really happening. We live in WA5 so it took us 7 minutes to get to the hospital. We arrived there at 2.11am approx. The same midwife examined me and then said 'Oh, your baby has lots of hair' - yes, that's right - baby was well on its way. I was told to quickly move to the next (delivery) room - no time to even put my bottoms and was told to move rooms with the bedsheet wrapped around me! Minutes later, at 2.33am my baby was born. The 'care' from then on was ok. My disappointment though comes at the midwife's poor care and trust that I wasn't over-exaggerating and that I knew something was happening. To sum up - a decent enough ward. But, midwives should listen to the expectant mother. If it wasn't for my partner being so assertive and ignoring you and telling you that we were coming in, my baby would have been delivered at home and goodness knows what would have happened. So, I'd advise others to use the ward, yes, but listen to your body/instincts and be more assertive - and don't always put your faith in their midwives! I've not made a formal complaint - I'm busy being a mum, but have been told by health visitors and baby/mother group leader that I should say something about this. I'd welcome a response from the hospital, and maybe even a closer investigation of this case.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Warrington Hospital

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback and we are sorry to hear that you didn't feel you were listened to during the early stages of your labour. We would be delighted to discsuss this with you and we run a regular session with our Supervisors of Midwives to allow mums to give us this exact kind of feedback so that we can listen and learn from your experiences. Please feel free to contact us on 01925 662334 to discuss. The sessions tend to be on the second Friday of each month in the afternoon and you can book a private slot with us during this time.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story

Recently read