"It just feels like a wast of time!"

About: Queen Elizabeth I I Hospital (Welwyn Garden City)

Anything else?

I took my nan for her appointment which was at 5 o'clock, when we arrived we were told to wait in the waiting room, when we got into the waiting room it was very full and everyone seemed quite grumpy, they had every right to be, there were some patients that had been waiting there since 3 o'clock and still hadnt been seen. Not once was anyone informed by the nurses of staff that there was a delay, there was no communication what so ever. Some of the people in the waiting room were very elderly too. Anyway our waiting time wasnt as long as some of the others and we were seen at 6 o'clock only because we had complained. We never got the meet the Doctor himself, the appointment was held with a young girl that work with the Doctor. The appointment was supposed to be the results of a scan, but we never got any. After having 2 scans the results came back that my nans hip replacement had got in the way and they would have to do another one. My nan first contacted the hopital in the begining of June about this and it now being August we are still none the wiser. What the scan did show up was that she has a mass on her lung, we were told by the Doctors Assistant that she would issue a urgent letter to the Lister the following day which was a Friday and the Lister would receive the letter on the Monday and they woudl contact my nan with an urgent appointment. Two weeks have past since the appointment at the QE2 and no appointment had come through from the Lister so my nan called them, only to be told that no urgent referall had been received from the QE2! What a joke, they say with things like this time is of the essence! Anyway this week my nan has left messages with the secretary and I have now emailed her to try and get this sorted. My nan has been left to feel lost as she doesnt know what to do next and who to turn too. The NHS has certainly failed her.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen Elizabeth I I Hospital

Irrespective of the circumstances, none of what you have described is acceptable. Whilst we would like to hold an investigation in to these problems, and to do so we would need you to make a formal complaint, what is far more important is to get things moving in terms of the care your grandmother needs. If you can email us at generalenquiries.enh-tr@nhs.net, we can get this done for her and then we can discuss how best to investigate the other matters you have raised quite rightly as concerns.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story