"Nearly as good as Private"

About: Leighton Hospital

Anything else?

I recently had a colonoscopy at Leighton Hospital My previous experience had been at the adjacent private mid cheshire hospital when I had company provided private health care so I was interested in the comparisons. The booking system and follow up with the NHS was outstanding. Efficient and good use of technology. Waiting time for pre op was nil. For the actual procedure it was about two hours. Private was much better basically about 30 mins. Changing room and waiting room with NHS was fine could be better but fit for purpose. Private was much more comfortable as you would expect. NHS candular process was very poor. A male staff nurse continually bemoaning the fact that nurses had been delegated all the work made a complete hash of the first attempt and the second was successfully but painful. Not impressed. Private was much better. The procedure itself with NHS was first class. The ate ending nursing staff were spot on friendly supportive helpful everything you would want. The locum consultant was very good having had over ten colonoscopies I feel fine saying compared to others he was good. Private was good also but no better than NHS. You do get the actual consultant rather than a locum going private. Post procedure with NHS was less efficient. Notes sat on ward for a while but no big deal. Tea but no food. Private you get hotel type service which is nice but not that important. Overall my experience with NHS at Leighton was good and better than I expected.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leighton Hospital

Thank you for your feedback which is always welcome as it helps us to improve our services within the department. In your feedback, you mention that you had to wait for two hours for your procedure. We do operate a staggered admission time for endoscopy patients so that they are not waiting too long before their procedure, but we also inform patients in their appointment letter that they may be with us for the morning or afternoon depending on their appointment. Unfortunately, some cases take longer than others as this is the nature of the procedure. I am sorry that one of my male nurses was bemoaning the fact that nurses had been delegated all the work and he was also not successful on the first attempt on inserting a cannula. I will speak with the nurse involved as this type of behaviour is not professional and not helpful for patients to hear when they are undergoing surgery. You also mention that the notes were sat on the ward for a while. I am presuming that you had received some sedation when having your procedure, and for this reason we do keep patients for 2 hours afterwards. I am sorry that you did not receive any toast with your tea, as this is normal practice. I will look into this matter on your behalf. Once again thank you for your feedback and I am glad to note that your overall experience was good and better than you expected. Dawn Clark, Department Lead, Treatment Centre

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story