"A & E"

About: Queen's Hospital (Romford)

Anything else?

Very disappointed visit to A&E last night I was told I needed blood tests and a scan, I waited 6 hours to be told I would be getting an appointment in the post for these tests. The triage were helpful and explained why I needed the tests. But the actual doctor who kept her ID pass turned inwards was most abrupt and told me to go home and wait for the appointments to be sent. I tried to speak to another member of staff but was just ignored. Eventually a male nurse came over and told me that the doctor said go home and if I feel unwell I know where they are. What use was this? I felt unwell that's why I was there, it is not a place you go to for fun. So if you are seriously ill I hope you do not get the same doctor because you will still be seriously ill but with the added rudeness and lack of treatment. I would not use this A&E again.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen's Hospital

I’m very sorry that you were kept waiting in the A&E, and we are working hard to resolve this, but sometimes the department is very busy and we have to see the patients most seriously ill first. We often organise further appointments and tests for a later date, so patients are not kept waiting unnecessarily. However, it is unacceptable that any member of staff should have spoken to you rudely. If you would like to contact me through our PALS team on 01708 435454 or email PALS@bhrhospitals.nhs.uk, we will investigate what happened further. Yours sincerely Flo Panel-Coates Director of Nursing

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story