"So disappointed I changed hospitals"

About: Claremont Hospital

Anything else?

I visited the Claremont yesterday as a private BUPA patient. The receptionist as you walked immediately in was lovely, it went down hill from there. The outpatient receptionist made mr feel like I was interrupting their work, quite abrupt when answering my questions. My appointment with the consultant was great, exceptionally knowledgable and thoroughly explained in lay mans terms what was wrong with me. I was asked to see if Imaging could fit me in for an MRI so back to reception I went. Was asked where my paper work was for the scan? I wasn't given any 'well you'd have thought they could have given you the correct paper work!' Reception stated as they huffed and photocopied a form and directed me to Imaging. Finally found reception thanks to a nice gentleman redirecting me to be faced with another unhelpful receptionist who looked at me as if Zi was stupid when I asked if I could get a scan today. Today? I don't think so! I explained Id travelled 2 hours and was BUPA as Id been told to and they finally said they'd go and see. That was all I had wanted. They came back with a no and explained why which was fine, I asked if I could make an appointment they asked if I was planning to go away for the next couple of weeks. I said no but I worked and it takes min half a day off work to attend and the consultant wanted to see me in 2 weeks and I think needed the scan before then. I was told they would call. I used the ladies before I left it wasn't particularly clean with paper towels in the basins and on the floors as the sign said pls notify reception if everything want to satisfactory I mentioned on my way out that there were no paper towels. Instantly regretted this as I just had another 'look' and huff in return. The hospital and nursing staffsy be great and the consultant was highly recommended but bytes first impressions I have changed hospital and Consultant. Very disappointed.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Claremont Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We are committed to providing the very best possible patient experience and your feedback is a really important way of helping us to achieve this. We will look into the concerns you have raised. As you have provided anonymous feedback we are unable to let you know the outcome of our investigation. Please do not hesitate to contact the Hospital Director Mr A Davey, Claremont Hospital, 401 Sandygate Road, Sheffield S10 5UB if you wish a response

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story