"Hospital Feedback."

About: Bassetlaw Hospital

Anything else?

On arrival to bassetlaw emergency department on Sunday 4th August at 0120 hours, my daughters partner was booked in by a very professional receptionist. Within 20 minutes we were seen by a triage nurse, who was extremely competent and caring. Unfortunately it seemed that there was a problem with the amount of doctor's on duty. I was led to believe that one doctor had not arrived due to sickness and one was a locum. We waited for approximately 3 hours and 30 minutes before seeing a doctor. Surely more information to those who were waiiting to see a doctor could be made available. I think the hospital should have electronic notice boards to update the patients and families of any delays. I appreciate that due to unforeseen circumstances that sometimes, due to the lack of doctors that this situation could arise. I think that the hospital should have staff (doctors) on call to support the department and to alleviate the waiting times.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Doncaster and Bassetlaw Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust We are preparing to make a change

Thanks so much for the feedback and we're glad that you found the triage nurse so good. You're absolutely right that we were one senior house officer down on that shift (20.00 on Sat 3 August to 02.00 on Sun 4 August), due to unexpected illness. The clinical site managers made every effort to find a replacement but unfortunately this didn't prove possible. We would like to apologise sincerely if this meant you had a longer wait before you saw a doctor. The locum doctor who was on duty is an experienced middle-grade clinician who works regularly in Bassetlaw's Emergency Department so knows it well.

You make an excellent suggestion about having an electronic notice board informing patients of any potential delays. This is something that our A&E team are keen to explore and were already been looking at so we hope it is something we will be able to introduce. We agree that it would be helpful for patients to know how long they may have to wait and the reason for any delays.

Response from Bassetlaw Hospital

Thanks so much for the feedback and we're glad that you found the triage nurse so good. You're absolutely right that we were one senior house officer down on that shift (20.00 on Sat 3 August to 02.00 on Sun 4 August), due to unexpected illness. The clinical site managers made every effort to find a replacement but unfortunately this didn't prove possible. We would like to apologise sincerely if this meant you had a longer wait before you saw a doctor. The locum doctor who was on duty is an experienced middle-grade clinician who works regularly in Bassetlaw's Emergency Department so knows it well. You make an excellent suggestion about having an electronic notice board informing patients of any potential delays. This is something that our A&E team are keen to explore and were already been looking at so we hope it is something we will be able to introduce. We agree that it would be helpful for patients to know how long they may have to wait and the reason for any delays.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story