"Waiting around in agony for 2 days."

About: Royal Gwent Hospital / Accident & Emergency Royal Gwent Hospital / General Surgery

(as the patient),

I went into A&E around 3am on the in late July suffering extreme stomach pain. After a 5 hour wait, I was told my bloods suggested appendicitis and sent up to SAU around 8am. I was given pain relief here 5 hours after being sat in agony. I was put on a drip and sent to a waiting room. I was called through to see a young female doctor around 11am in a dirty examination room where there was blood on the floor and bed. She didn't really seem to take the pain seriously, told me a few things it could be and then sent me back to the waiting room.

I then saw a male doctor around 2pm who was far more helpful and said he would get me a scan. I sat in the waiting room in pure agony a further 3 hours before being told the scan wouldn't be till the following morning. So after 14 hours sitting in a waiting room, in pain and nil by mouth, I went home.

I went back the following morning and had the scan at 9. 30 on the dot as arranged. I then sat in the waiting room in SAU for 6 hours with no pain relief before I was seen again with the results. I saw a lovely female registrar who was the first person who took the pain seriously and told me I was going to have to go down for a camera in my tummy to see what was going on.

From there on, I can't fault the care. I was given a bed within 30 mins, operated on 2 hours later and discharged the next day. The registrar told me the next day that the op had been very much needed as I had a burst cyst that had caused infection and inflammation.

Waiting around in a chair in a waiting room in agony for 2 days before someone finally takes you seriously is not on in my opinion, especially when the bloods I had done in A&E on admittance showed there was something wrong. I must say the nurses on D5 West were amazing, especially Catherine and 'H'? ? They are worth their weight in gold and all that made those awful few days bearable for me.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Julian Hayman, Internal Communications Manager, Communications, Aneurin Bevan Health Board

Thank you for your posting your comments. I am very grateful to you for taking the time to feed back your experience.

I am glad to hear that you found the nurses on D5 West amazing and will forward your comments to the relevant staff. However, I am disappointed to hear about your experience at A & E and the SAU and will ensure that your comments are fed back to these departments at the Royal Gwent Hospital.

If you would like to contact me with more specific details (email: sharon.harford@wales.nhs.uk), I can look into this matter for you.

However, if you would like to raise your concern formally, you can email your concern directly to the Putting Things Right Team at Puttingthingsright.ABHB@wales.nhs.uk

Please include the following information in your email:

your full name


telephone number

Thank you again for your feed back.

Best wishes.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful