"Information on Podiatry"

About: NHS Highland (Health)

(as other),

I believe patients are been given incorrect information by the NHS Highland through incorrect information on a Podiatry poster. As a result patients can be putting themselves at risk. The poster is implying that all Podiatrists do not cut toenails. This is incorrect information, only NHS Podiatrists do not cut toenails. I requested that the word NHS should be inserted before the word Podiatrists on the poster, that way making it very clear to the public that only NHS Podiatrists do not cut toenails.

I raised my concerns through a 3rd party and the Health Board, requesting that they remove the posters and to print a public apology in the local newspaper. To date the Health board acknowledged in the letter that Podiatrists do cut toenails, but that NHS Podiatry were unable to provide that level of care. Also, to date the posters remain in place, there is no public apology printed in the local newspaper. Instead NHS Highland said they would consider amending the information in the strap line of the poster the next time they do a print run.

I then attempted to raise my concerns as an official complaint, so as to go through the NHS complaints procedure, so SPSO can deal with it, but to date have received no acknowledgement regarding my complaint from NHS Highland.

I tried filing my complaint at Stage 1 and Stage 3 because a letter had been received by NHS Highland, but to date, I have received no acknowledgement of my complaint.

More about:
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Caroline Champion, Planning & Public Involvement Manager , NHS Highland (Argyll & Bute CHP), NHS Highland

Dear improvednhshighland

Thank you for taking the time to make this posting. I would like to apologise for the time it has taken to provide a response.

I can fully understand the frustration you have experienced. Having now looked into this matter, I understand you submitted a formal complaint to NHS Highland and can confirm that a formal response was sent to you on Wednesday 28th August.

I am very grateful you have taken the time to raise the issue with us. If you wish to discuss this matter further, please do not hesitate to contact me at caroline.cecil@nhs.net.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story