"Well organised surgery pre-assessment ..."

About: Queen's Medical Centre

(as the patient),

What I liked

Well organised surgery pre-assessment with ENT nurse2 days prior to surgery. Went through entire procedure and what would happen to me on the day. Spent as much time with me as neededDay of surgery. Addmission to ward straight forward. Interviews with Consultant, Anaesthetist & Recovery Area Nurse took place quickly and with no duplication of questions or forms. Felt all understood operation and my concerns. Kept informed of potenital surgery time adn minimum waiting.Post operative care good with excellent pain management and monitoring straight after surgery and prior to discharge.

What could be improved

Medical records showed gender as female instead of male !!!!Medication on discharge not enough to last perscription period. Had to go to GP to get full perscription - nothing to indicate that i had to do this either prior to surgery or on discharge. GP says this is a common problem and is to do with TRUST V GP financing. This made sense as had to be prescribed 100 solpadol, 100 diclefenac by GP to see through recovery period. This should have been supplied by hospital.Surgery was for tonsillectomy & palate surgery hence severe post operative pain when swallowing yet all post operative medication was in tablet format instead of liquids !

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen's Medical Centre

Mr Annable,

Thank you for your comments. We’re sorry to hear that you had problems with your prescription and that you did not receive an adequate explanation about how to get your medication both pre and post surgery. We will use your feedback to improve communication for future patients.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful