"Physiotherapy inappropriate and poor"

Anything else?

The physiotherapist concentrated on only one exercise in the gym, ignoring my requests to be allowed to continue with the exercises I had been given by neurological physiotherapists at Darent Valley. He also wanted me to walk using my crutches, but with two members of staff with me. This was possible only once during my week long stay, as the staff were too busy doing other things. After one week of this nonsense the physiotherapist decided I would be able to manage the stairs at my home and so I was discharged. Later the same day I had to have ambulance staff help me get from the bathroom of my home to the bedroom. (Down 2 stairs, small landing, then up 3 stairs) However, it would have been pointless spending more time at Livingstone. Something needs to be done about the poor physiotherapy.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Livingstone Hospital

Dear Trisha, Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback. We’re sorry that you feel the physiotherapy you received whilst at Livingstone was poor. We’d like to provide you with a detailed response to your concerns, and to help us to do this it would be helpful if you could contact us so we can take some further details from you to help us investigate the concerns you have raised. The facilities at Livingstone are different to those available for neurological rehabilitation at Darent Valley, but the team at Livingstone try to offer solutions for each patient to achieve the outcome they need. We’d like the opportunity to put things right if we can. We hope to hear from you soon. Best wishes Customer Care Team Kent Community Health NHS Trust Tel: 0300 123 1807 Email: kcht.cct@nhs.net Website: www.kentcht.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story