"Let down by East Surrey Hospital, thankyou to Dorking and Epsom who tried to help"

About: Dorking Hospital East Surrey Hospital / Gynaecology Epsom Hospital / Accident and emergency

(as the patient),

Following on from a visit to A&E on sunday amd the gynae dept (who said they would arrange a scan and app) I was seen at Dorking hospital for the scan. Dorking hospital were concerned about the results of the scan, immediately called my gp to arrange a same day app so the gp could provide a letter for the hospital so I could receive treatment. I attended the gp surgery, obtained notes and was advised to present myself at A&E. I did this, the triage nurse was excellent and attempted to get me referred to the gynae dept who were apparently too busy. In the end a decision was made for A&E to see me and decide on action, whereby after a lengthy wait I was I formed I wasn't sufficiently ill to see the gynae dept. I protested this based on how I felt, along with Dorking hospital and gp opinion only to be told that not only had a gynae doc who hadn't seen my notes nor examined me ...had decided I would not be seen last night or indeed in the future for a follow up! !

I became rather distressed as have been ill for over a month now and this advice contradicted 2 other medical opinions both obtained that day from clinicians who had actually examined me, only to be told "this is what's happening. You need to return to your gp for more "x" medication" and they disregarded the fact the medication was the same I'd already been on for a month, that hadn't worked and due to prolonged blood loss of 4 weeks the gp had referred me to them.

All in all I was distressed and disgusted at the gynae departments attitude of quote "it's normal to bleed heavily and pass clots for a month after a baby" despite explanations that I had a baby 3. 5 months ago and hadn't had any previous post partum issues. I left the department crying hysterically, and attended epsom A&E who were shocked at the treatment I received. I shall be making a formal complaint.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Bill Kilvington, Assistant Director for Women and Children's, Surrey and Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust

Dear Very unwell

I am really sorry to hear about your experience, this is certainly not the standard of care that we usually provide through the gynaecology service. You should have been seen promptly in our Gynae Assessment Unit (GAU).

Please do write a formal complaint and give as much detail about the dates and times so that I can properly investigate what went wrong for you.

Also, if you have any outstanding medical problems related to this I would be pleased to arrange for you to be seen by one of our consultants.

My secretaries number is 01737 231813

Once again I apologise for the problems that you have experienced.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story