"Poor treatment of elderly"

About: Royal Bournemouth General Hospital

Anything else?

When my Mum was in Bournemouth hospital following a stroke we were shocked at the noise levels, understandable in the day but at night. People were shaken roughly to wake them for blood pressure (not convinced night time checks are always absolutely necessary - sleep is vital) which did heart patients, nor anyone any good at all. There is way too much emphasis on drugs and not nearly enough on fresh air, good food and sleep. These things are fundamental to getting well. Staff were generally polite but there is no real 'care' no kind word or a cuddle like there used to be. It may be felt that in some wards there is no time but I believe kindness and warmth go a very long way to a person's recovery. These things may not constitute a lacking on a checklist but they should be fundamental surely.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Bournemouth General Hospital

Dear Anonymous Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback as this is an important way to review and improve our service. We also share your feedback with the wards because we recognise the importance of the comments you have made. I apologise that your experience did not meet with the high quality standard we aim to achieve. With regard to the noise levels you mentioned the Stroke Unit has to admit patients day and night as it is important for those Stroke patients to be on a specialised unit that can manage their clinical and nursing needs. The unit actively tries to reduce noise levels at night with a lower volume ring to nurse call bells, soft closing bins; staff wearing soft soled shoes and they also have some bays with just four beds to reduce noise levels. Please know that we have an on-going action plan to actively reduce noise levels. Patients with Stroke can have various fluctuating levels of consciousness and overnight is often a time when patients deteriorate when staff think they are sleeping; therefore observations on new acute stroke patients need to be closely monitored and must take place overnight especially monitoring stroke patients blood pressure. The same numbers of observations do not need to be carried out on more stable patients. The Stroke unit is very fortunate to be located on the ground floor with a fantastic outside space, many of their patients will be found in the specially designed garden space making the most of this glorious weather. They also have several doors which open to enable a constant flow of air. Not all patients are welcoming of staff 'cuddling' them, but staff are certainly encouraged to be friendly and warm. Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback which will be shared with the clinical staff on the Stroke unit. And I agree on the importance of ensure patients receive high quality standards of basic care. If you would like to contact us to give us more information so that we can more fully understand your individual situation please contact us via our PALS Team who will speak to you in total confidence. Telephone number 01202 704886 or please email pals@rbch.nhs.uk.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story