"Head and neck clinic"

About: Medway Maritime Hospital

Anything else?

I was pleased with my treatment. Staff were welcoming and courteous. Thy smiled and seemed interested. The consultant was clear and listened to my answers to his questions. He investigated my condition thoroughly and logically. He explained the next steps well so I could understand them. My only criticisms of the hospital are: - dreadful signage, which does nothing to help an anxious patient to get quickly to the right place; - car parking charges (parking should be free) and the dirty and depressing car park; - the number of smokers who stand by the entrance, often right underneath the sign which says the site is 'non-smoking'!!! In general, site management is weak.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Suzanne Brooker, Head of Patient Experience, Medway NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for your recent feedback.

I was pleased to read of your positive experience of the care and treatment provided.

As a Trust we are fully aware of the issues you have highlighted in regards to signage, parking and the lack of compliance by our visitors and patients to the non- smoking policy.

The recent changes to our internal signage have been well received and this will now be extended to the outside of the hospital which will take into account the car parking signage and a general clear up of the car parks and reorganisation and location of the car parks.

With regards to the hospital being a non- smoking site we do have a few difficulties with enforcing the ban which is why the smoking shelter was reintroduced to guide people over to the area and away from the main entrance.

If you have any further feedback or comments you wish to bring to my attention then please do not hesitate to contact me.

Suzanne Brooker Head of Patient Experience telephone 01634 830000 ex 5175

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Medway Maritime Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to write. We are pleased you found our staff welcoming, courteous and that you were generally pleased with your treatment and care. We have done lots of work around signage to help patients and visitors find the areas they need to visit. However, we realise it is a large and complex site and our volunteers at the main reception do a fantastic job, providing additional support, to help patients and visitors find the ward or department they need. We do however welcome any suggestions you might have. In terms of car parking, there are a number of concessions for eligible patients and visitors. The Trust has made numerous attempts to dissuade patients and visitors from smoking on the hospital site but with ongoing difficulty. We realise that the lack of cooperation from some smokers makes it unpleasant for non-smokers to enter and exit the hospital, as smokers tend to congregate near the main entrances. This is an issue we continue to tackle to improve. If you would like to discuss any of these matters in more depth, please do not hesitate to get in touch. Medway Maritime Hospital Team Email: communications@medway.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story