"Pressure put on me to accept TRAQS doctors choice"

About: Telford referral and quality service (TRAQS)

(as a service user),

I had thought that TRAQS was about giving the customers their choice of hospital. However, I now now been advised by staff at TRAQS that their doctor looks at the case and recommends which service the customer should have.

I felt pressure was put on me to accept their doctors choice (a visit to a clinic) rather than the appointment with the consultant which my GP had requested.

This makes me think that the TRAQS service is actually about saving money. I also believe that my complaint will be buried.

More about:
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from TRAQS & CAB Co-Ordinator, Telford and Wrekin CCG

Thank you for providing feedback following your recent experience of TRAQS.

I am disappointed to read your comments. TRAQS processes referrals according to pathways that have been developed and agreed by the GPs within the Telford and Wrekin area. We do, on occasion, receive referrals which our clinicians feel would benefit from being seen by a different clinician/department. If this is the case our in house clinicians discuss the options with the referring GP.and if the referring GP agrees to the suggested pathway we advise the patient of this when we discuss the Choice options.

Not all GPs are aware of the options available for treating the patient as we are continuing to develop new services to enable patients to be seen locally because not all patients require a consultant opinion.

I can assure you that TRAQS takes all constructive feedback seriously and have, in the past, changed the way we work following feedback from patients.

Thank you again for taking the time to respond.

Updates, changes and questions related to this story