"Both TRAQS and hospital send appointment reminders"

About: Telford referral and quality service (TRAQS)

(as a service user),

It makes no sense if you do not have all appointments. So I have had to wait 2 weeks for you to phone me.

Then you try and give me appointment at the hospital I am trying to move from, do you even read the letters?

A lot of money spent on this, what for? When you do get appointment, both you and the hospital send letters telling me what time and where the appointment is.

What a waste of money.

More about:
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Cathie McKenzie, Patient Advisor, TRAQS, NHS Telford and Wrekin CCG

Thank you for taking the time to send feedback to TRAQS.

I am disappointed to note that your feedback is a somewhat negative towards the service you have received; as all Patient Opinion feedback is anonymous I am unable to comment on your experience. However, I would like to clarify that TRAQS aims to contact patients within 5 working days from receipt of your GP referral. If the referral lodged by your GP states a particular consultant or hospital that you would (or would not) like to attend then we endeavour to act upon such a request. However, if there is no specific request we nevertheless offer patients a choice of where they would like their appointment. Unfortunately there are some clinics that have waiting lists and TRAQS has no control over those lists. If we are able to book an appointment we are required to print off and post to patients specific documents to confirm appointment details, date, time, hospital address etc. In addition, some hospitals also choose to contact patients to confirm appointment details. I am sure you appreciate how important it is for patients to have the correct address and specific instructions relating to the location of the clinic they are to attend, especially if they chosen to travel further to an unfamiliar hospital.

Although you may feel this is 'a waste of money' I hope I have been able to address your concerns and explain why these procedures have been adopted.

Many thanks again for your comments.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story