"Phlebotomist attitudes"

About: Herts & Essex Community Hospital

Anything else?

I went to have a blood test this morning, and was there for a total of 5 minutes. Within these 5 minutes I observed the 2 female Phlebotomists being rude to 2 separate older members of the community. Their comments and rude attitudes towards these 2 separate patients was unnecessary and unwarranted. These staff members both demonstrated a clear example of people who misuse their power against vulnerable people in the community, I'd like to say this is the first time that I have observed this in this department, but unfortunately it is not. I attend this department regularly and acknowledge that there are staff in there who do a fantastic job and provide a great service, unfortunately it is staff like these 2 who give the NHS a bad name.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Shahid Sardar, Head of Patient Engagement, Patient Safety and Quality, The Princess Alexandra Hospital NHS Trust We are preparing to make a change

Dear Anonymous,

The Princess Alexandra Hospital NHS Trust is working hard to improve services every single day.

Thank you for acknowledging that the majority of staff do provide a good service. However, clearly, no-one deserves to experience the poor attitude you saw in the five minutes you were at the service from the two staff you mention.

Please do get in touch to provide some more details, or if ever you have any unanswered questions in the future. Our number in the Patient Experience Team is 01279 827084 and we are available Monday to Friday between 9am and 5pm.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story