"Not good enough."

About: Diana, Princess Of Wales Hospital

Anything else?

I went in to A&E as I started heavily bleeding a few hours after I found out that I was 5 Weeks pregnant with my first child. I was seen by a nurse that asked me 3 times if I was definitely pregnant before reluctantly giving me a pregnancy test which came up positive. The nurse asked me if i smoked; I said yes and before I had the chance to say but I've stopped now she jumped down my throat with "well you don't now!" I was then taken into a room to speak to a doctor. The room was an empty room with just two chairs, a piece of dirty tissue and a clipper lighter on the floor. The doctor stood making me feel uneasy. The door was left open whilst I spoke to the doctor, giving me no privacy. I don't feel I was given enough advice as to where to go, what to expect and what to worry about. Given this was my first pregnancy and I am not registered to a local GP because i moved here weeks ago I do not feel that I was dealt with appropriately. I have recently tried to contact the early pregnancy department for advice but after a total of 20 minutes of ringing I failed to do so.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Diana, Princess Of Wales Hospital

I'm sorry to hear you had an unpleasant experience at A&E. If you haven't done so already, you might wish to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 01472 875403 so that we can look into what happened. Kind regards, Sarah Mainprize

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story