"blood test"

About: Queen Elizabeth I I Hospital (Welwyn Garden City)

Anything else?

went to have a blood test had a letter which stated blood should be taken by 9am also said to show the staff the letter, which I did was there just after 8am come nine o'clock i went and reminded staff about time person behind desk said really busy ( no sorry or anything ) I asked if it would affect the results being late she said don't know you will have to ask person taking blood, said they were short staffed and it was the trusts fault and that it was nothing to do with her as she was a volunteer. got seen at 9.10am and the person taking blood didn't really know if it would affect the results either, rang the Consultants Secretary ( very nice and helpful ) when I got home and asked her she said as long as it was only 10/15 minutes after nine should be ok. there was someone else who was should of had it done by nine as well and they were still waiting when I left. very poor service also when they took blood they didn't shut the door so everyone could see not very private, I have asked for any future blood tests to be done at the Lister Hospital where the service is very good and staff have manners.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen Elizabeth I I Hospital

We're really sorry for the poor service you received at the QEII recently - it is not acceptable and we will be making sure that your feedback reaches the team. Whilst this is a service for which demand can be quite high at times, you deserved to be treated better. If you were willing, we wonder if you'd be happy to contact us at generalenquiries.enh-tr@nhs.net so that our pathology manager could hear what you have to say directly?

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Peter Gibson, Associate Director, Public Affairs, East and North Hertfordshire NHS Trust

We're sorry that it has taken so long for us to reply - for reasons that are unclear, it doesn't seem that we were made aware that your comments had been posted. We're also concerned at the poor quality of service that you received - we know it's a little late to offer this, but if you would like the matters raised followed up, then please just email us at generalenquiries.enh-tr@nhs.net.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story