"Pleasant and restful stay at Southmead Urology..."

About: Southmead Hospital

Anything else?

I found my stay in the Urology ward at Southmead Hospital to be pleasant and restful and at no point did I feel that they were in a hurry to move me on, something I appreciated as a twenty year old living in a different country to my family. The staff overall were helpful and kept me informed about what was going on throughout my stay, and the anaesthetist was very pleasant and put me at ease very quickly regarding my operation. The nurse’s were also very considerate and helpful. The only complaint I have relates to my pre-operative experience, where I was told very different time scales for when I was likely to have my operation and the pre-op nurse I felt could have explained slightly more exactly what the operation involved and how long you can wait on the day before you go in for surgery, as I was waiting almost 12 hours in admissions before I went in for surgery which I felt caused unnecessary worry for me as I had been advised my operation may be cancelled if a more urgent patient presents.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Southmead Hospital

Dear Anonymous – thank you for taking the time and trouble to provide your feedback on the Urology Service at Southmead. I am pleased that you found the staff professional, and the care provided to be of a good standard. I regret that your pre-operative experience was not of the same high standard. I am sorry that you had to wait so long for your operation on the day, and that the communication was unclear, and the reasons for the delay were not adequately explained. Following the recent transfer of urology services from the University Hospitals Bristol NHS Trust to make one centre of excellence, the service has been experiencing high levels of demand while the new structure has been implemented and the service model matured. It was for this reason, and the fact that Southmead is an acute hospital with large numbers of emergency admissions, that the warning about the possible need to cancel your operation was given. However, cancellations are always an option of last resort, and I am glad yours was able to proceed as planned. Your comments have been fed back to the team in order that they can be aware of all aspects of your experiences, both positive and negative, and use these to improve the service for other patients. Kind regards – Steve Sykes Advice and Complaints Team.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story