"Broken ankle April 2013"

About: Royal Stoke University Hospital

Anything else?

After braking my ankle in april this year I was taken onto ward 27 where after a week I was given an operation with a consultant when I had a plate and screws put in my ankle and he done a marvellous job together with his staff. Most of the staff where great although 1 or 2 could have done with a bit more bedside manner practice. The only complaint I have is regarding the amount of time you have to wait for a nurse to come to you after you have pulled the red emergency cord. At one stage I waited over half an hour on the toilet for someone to come. And one of the other patients noticed I was missing and checked on me thro the door. Im also surprised that when the new building was built they didnt put in touch taps in the sink like they do on the motorway services as so much water is wasted just running away which is a complete waste of NHS money. Also why is it that the staff are not allowed to use the food trollies for fear of disciplinary action being taken particularly as any wastage all gets thrown away. Complete waste of everybodies money !!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from University Hospitals of North Midlands NHS Trust

Dear Wendy Thomas

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of visiting University Hospital of North Staffordshire.

We do not have a Ward 27 here at the hospital but by the nature of your condition I am assuming you were admitted to Ward 227.

I have shared your comments with the Ward Manager, who has confirmed that she is looking into the issues around answering call bells in a timely manner and is looking into cause.

If you would like us to investigate the issues you have raised further, please call our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 01782 676450 or email patient.advice@uhns.nhs.uk

Updates, changes and questions related to this story