"I attended as a day patient to ..."

About: Lister Hospital

(as the patient),

What could be improved

I attended as a day patient to the cardiac unit. I was disappointed to hear that I will have to wait another five months for my double by-pass. I am 71 years old and had a long wait as the consultant (not their fault) was stuck on the motorway, but what made it unbearable was that there was nowhere to sit as many of the chairs were taken up with relatives/friends of other patients. Most of these were young/able bodied and should have given up the seats to those with appointments. Surely the staff must notice this, it needs to be addressed.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lister Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at our hospital with us. Sadly not enough information was provided to comment on the reasons why your operation will not take place for a while yet, and even if we did this should be discussed with you personally. That said, we do appreciate that waiting for any treatment can be distressing. If you do wish to discuss your particular case, then please contact our patient advice and liaison service (PALS) team on 01438 784779, who will be happy to follow your case up with the relevant clinical team in the hospital.

Finally with regard to your concerns about the seating area in the cardiac suite, we have noted your comments with interest. While this can be a very busy area at times, we have passed your concerns onto our staff so that they make to make sure that those needing a seat, including elderly patients, have access to one while they wait.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful