"Joan booker ward"

About: St Peter's Hospital (Chertsey)

Anything else?

My twin sister gave birth yesterday to a little boy. I visited today with my mother to see her and the baby. It was about 4:30 pm and we were greated with an un welcoming mid wife. She said" visiting times were over there between 2-4 and 6-8" we said but we have come from far and left work early we would like to see her. We were not aware of the visiting time as it didnt say anything about it online. The mid wife said "well it does tell you on line"and shrugged as if there was no option. Then I said that's my twin and this is her mother and we really want to see her,to which she replied" well lots of people have sisters" so wasnt goin to let us in. She said your sister needs to rest but she hadn't had any visitors at all and her partner was not with her. She let us go thought to see my sister one by one. My mother was waiting just inside the double doors waiting for me to come out of the ward and this same mid wife offered her a tea. My mother said" no I'm fine thank you".then I waited in the same spot while my mother went into see my sister and was also about 45 mins. As I was waiting this same mid wife was finishing her shift( I hadn't seen her once the hole time I was standing there) and saw me by the doors and said "right go down there" pointing to a waiting area that i couldnt see,I said "excuse me?" To which she replied " I'm sick of seeing your face, go down there and wait" . I am a 27 year old woman not a disobedient child and did not appreciate the tone of voice or the lack of respect in which she spoke to me. This was meant to be a very happy occasion and instead was a very negative and upsetting experience. I'm sure the other mid wives are lovely but my over all experience was determined by one individuals lack of common kindness,compassion, sensitivity and human decency.I am Very disappointed in this hospital and feel no human being deserves to be spoken to in that way no matter how young or old.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St Peter's Hospital

Dear Sofia, As the sister in charge of Joan Booker Ward, I am disappointed and upset to hear about your experiences and very sorry that you were spoken to in this unacceptable way. I am pleased we were able to talk this morning to discuss everything in more detail and I will be following up with the member of staff concerned. Our visiting times are advertised on the maternity section of our website and also on the main door to Joan Booker Ward and these were set in consultation with women who have given birth at St Peter’s Hospital. They felt it was important to limit visiting to set times and that if we allow free visiting all day and evening it would be too disruptive to other women and babies on the ward. Enabling quieter rest periods throughout the day helps women to recover after the birth and to bond with their baby. We do ask our staff to be quite strict about enforcing the visiting times, for the wellbeing of all our women, but we are still sorry you were not made to feel more welcome and it is certainly no excuse for the way you were spoken to. As we talked about, I promise to follow this up and keep you updated. Thank you for sharing your concerns with me. Kind regards Fiona Bradshaw Sister, Joan Booker

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story

Recently read