About: Queen Elizabeth Hospital (Birmingham)

Anything else?

I was allowed to stay overnight due to my mum requiring assistance with toileting,bathing. The night staff was amazing. There were times the night staff were short staffed but despite this they continued to provide a great service. I chose to take care of mum myself as previously I have seen patients waiting for a long time before they are seen to. My only disappointment was the discharge. Even though my mum was very weak she was asked to go to the discharge room as we were told that the bed was needed. We had to wait 2.5 hours in discharge lounge with my mum needing a bed only to find out from a another patient still on the ward that the bed was still available. I appreciate beds are needed and we would always respect what the nurses tell us but there was no need to.lie. I believe this was down to another patient having made a complaint. The patient if need be would i advise on what i heard. I agreed. I think this was the real reason for making my mum go to the discharge room as they have never done that. Had my mum been able to independently walk, it would not be an issue or if the bed was genuinely required. However i appreciate the nurses allowing me to stay and care for my mum.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen Elizabeth Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham. We welcome all feedback and would like to assure you that all comments are taken seriously and acted upon as part of our ongoing commitment to improving patient experience. We are very pleased that you had such a positive experience on the ward and were able to stay with your mum overnight. However, we were very sorry to hear that you are unhappy with your mum’s experience of the Discharge Lounge. Your comments have been shared with the senior staff responsible for this area. They are closely monitoring the experience of patients who use the Discharge Lounge so your feedback will be useful to help us evaluate how well it is currently working. It will also enable us to identify any changes that are required. All patients who use the lounge are assessed for their suitability before we move them. As the majority of our patients are admitted as emergencies we have to be prepared to create beds at very short notice so its vital beds are available where possible. Without more information about the specific circumstances surrounding your mum’s assessment and subsequent transfer to the lounge we are unable to respond fully via this website. If you would like to discuss this in more detail please contact us via the PALS Office who will arrange a senior member of staff to contact you. You can contact PALS by phone 0121 371 3280, by email PALS@uhb.nhs.uk , via the hospital website http://www.uhb.nhs.uk/pals-form.htm or in person by dropping in between 9am – 4.30pm (Mon-Fri) to the PALS office located to the left of the Information Desk in the main entrance of the new Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham. Thank you again for taking the trouble to post your comments on the NHS Choices website.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story